Chris Hörmann

FOLLOW ME ON:

ABOUT ME

null

My name is Christoph Hörmann and I’m an independent musician from Austria.

Over the last few years I developed a diverse set of skills to write, record and produce my own music and make it accessible for everyone via internet. To put this knowledge to some good use I’m constantly trying to support others in achieving their musical goals and visions, be it as guitar teacher, composer or producer.

If you want to know more about me, have fun exploring my page.


  • Education

    High school diploma in electronics and IT at the HTL Steyr/Austria and a Bachelors degree in “composition for jazz and contemporary music” with focus at “music- and media-techonology” at Anton Bruckner private university in Linz/Austria

  • Instruments

    My main instrument is the guitar (e- and acoustic) and i also love to play the bass-guitar and I have some basic knowledge on piano & keyboard.

  • Bands & Projects

    With my main band “Mandatory” I’ve been active live and in the studio for over 10 years now. I alsowork on solo projects like “Retroman” and compose ambient-music and soundscapes.

  • Teaching

    I’m teaching guitar at the Musikschulungszentrum Bad Hall and in my blogposts I try to share my knowledge with everyone who’s interested.

  • Producing

    I have several years of experience as a freelancing audio engineer and in 2016 I started Dot.C Media with a few colleagues to do full scale audio-, and videoproductions.

BANDS & PROJECTS

Chris Hörmann - Void

Void is is a collection of five ambient tracks.

Everyone who is looking for unobtrusive sounds or just needs music to relax will find some well-fitting tunes here.

The tracks were produced using the Cubase Synthesizer Padshop Pro. They were the result of my attempt to compose songs exclusively with a single VST-instrument.

Have fun with Void!

Chris Hörmann - Experimence

Experimence is the result of experimenting with the Cubase Synthesizer Retrolouge 2.

For a long time something led me to believe, that I can only make good music when I use the newest and hottest plugins and VST-instruments on the market (chapeau marketing departments). So i decided to create some songs exclusively with VST-instruments that are included in my DAW – in this case it was Retrologue 2. It has been a very interesting process and I highly recommend this method to anyone who suffers from GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome 🙂 ) or simply needs a creative boost.

Have fun and enjoy Experimence!

Retroman – Alive is a five track EP in the genre Chiptune/8-Bit!

While playing the incredible FTL I had the idea of writing some 8-bit style music. I couldn’t find any useful VST-instruments in Cubase so i started to search the internet and stumbled across the free synth TAL NoisemakerI was really surprised by the soundquality of this synthesizer and that it had all I needed to make some chiptune/8-bit music. The result of this songwriting-journey is the five track EP Retroman – Alive!

Have fun listening!

Mandatory - Catharsis Cover

Catharsis is the second studio album from Mandatory released in 2014.

The nine songs on Catharsis were recorded at the bands own studio in Linz and at Sepptember Studios in Steyr. The album was produced, recorded and mixed by Chris Hörmann and mastered by Michael Haider at Alpha Mastering. The new material is a development of the traditional Mandatory sound combined with new elements. On the LP the band tried to cover everything, from pounding Thrash- to epic Melodic-Death-Metal tunes.

Have fun listening to Catharsis!

FAQs

FAQs

Post categories
/by
FAQs about topics like homerecording, guitar, songwriting and more. Every FAQ will provide short answers to frequently asked questions and links to further information in form of in-depth posts and...
Homerecording

Homerecording

Post categories
/by
Starting with the components of a basic homerecording-setup through to recording-techniques and effects right through to technical expanations you'll find (nearly) everything you need to know in this category to immediately start off with your own...
Gitarre

Guitar

Post categories
/by
The guitar is a fascinating but also challenging Instrument. I faced many of this challenges and broke them down into small and easy to understand thought pattern. As a guitar teacher i try to communicate this ideas to my students and on this page I want to make them...
Videos

Videos

Post categories
/by
An Overview of videos from my bands and projects. Here you can find musicvideos, animations, tutorials and every visual art that I personally created, that I was part of or that I contributed...
Playlists

Playlists

Post categories
/by
Find the right music appropriate for nearly every situation. The playlists on this page present artists and genres that deeply influenced my taste in music and are also a showcase for my own...
DIY - Selbstgemacht

DIY – Do it yourself

Post categories
/by
Musicians are specimens that are most of the time on a budget- so why not just build some equipment by yourself? The DIY-projects on this page are examples for what you can get done when you're on a budget and should act as a motivation to try out some...
Tests & Reviews

Tests & Reviews

Post categories
/by
In my career as a musician, audio engineer and teacher I came across certain books, videos or pieces of equipment that made learning or producing easier for me. On this Page you'll find tests and reviews of products that in my opinion can help every musician, songwriter or homerecording-guy...
Herunterladen
close-link

Chris Hörmann

FOLGE MIR AUF:

ÜBER MICH

null

Willkommen auf meiner Seite! Hier findest du hilfreiche Infos zu den Themen Homerecording, Gitarre, Musikproduktion und vieles mehr. Ich werde versuchen auf dieser Seite all meine Fähigkeiten rund ums schreiben, spielen und produzieren von Musik in Beiträgen und künstlerischem Output für dich und die Welt zugänglich zu machen.

Ich hoffe du findest was interessantes und wünsche ich dir viel Spaß beim Erkunden meiner Seite.


  • Ausbildung

    Matura an der HTL Steyr im Bereich „Elektronik und Informatik“ und Bachelor-Abschluss in „Komposition für Jazz und zeitgenössische Musik“ an der Anton Bruckner Privat Universität Linz mit Schwerpunkt „Musik- und Medien-Technologie“.

  • Instrumente

    Mein Hauptinstrument ist die Gitarre (E- und Akustikgitarre), ich spiele auch gerne Bass und klimpere des öfteren mit meinen bescheidenen Kenntnissen am Keyboard herum.

  • Bands & Projekte

    Mit „Mandatory“ bin ich seit über 10 Jahren live und im Studio tätig. Nebenbei arbeite ich an diversen Solo-Projekten wie „Retroman“ und komponiere Ambient Musik und Soundscapes.

  • Unterricht

    Seit 2009 bin ich als Lehrer am Musikschulungszentrum Bad Hall tätig und versuche auf dieser Seite mein Wissen für jedermann zugänglich zu machen.

  • Musik Produktion

    Langjährige Erfahrung als freiberuflicher Tontechniker und seit 2016 mit einigen Kollegen im Künstler- und Tontechnierkollektiv Dot.C Media tätig.

BANDS & PROJEKTE

Chris Hörmann - Void

Void ist eine Sammlung aus fünf Ambient Tracks.

Die Songs sind zweifellos nicht für jede Party Playlist geeignet, wer aber unaufdringliche Klänge sucht, oder mit Musik einfach entspannen möchte, wird hier mit Sicherheit fündig.

Die Tracks wurden mit dem Cubase Synthesizer Padshop Pro produziert und sind aus dem Versuch heraus entstanden, mit nur einem einzigen VST-Instrument Songs zu komponieren.

Viel Spaß mit Void!

Chris Hörmann - Experimence

Experimence ist das Ergebnis meiner Experimente mit dem Cubase eigenen Synthesizer Retrologue 2.

Ich war eine ganze Weile in dem Glauben behaftet nur dann gute Musik schreiben zu können, wenn ich die neuesten und besten Plugins und VST-Instrumente verwende (Chapeau Marketingabteilungen). Aus diesem Grund entschloss ich, nur mit einem Cubase-eigenen VST-Instrument, in diesem Fall Retrologue 2, Songs zu schreiben. Es war ein lehrreiches Unterfangen und ich kann diese Methode jedem empfehlen, der etwa an GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) leidet oder eine kreativen Schub braucht.

Viel Spaß mit Experimence!

Retroman -Alive.. Cover

Retroman – Alive ist eine fünf Tracks umfassende EP im Genre Chiptune/8-Bit!

Beim Spielen des großartigen FTL, kam mir der Gedanke mich näher mit 8-Bit-Musik zu befassen. Nachdem ich in Cubase kein brauchbares VST-Instrument finden konnte, stieß ich bei meinen Recherchen auf den gratis Synthesizer TAL Noisemaker. Dieser lieferte die passenden Sounds für 8-Bit/Chiptune/Retro-Gaming-Musik und beim ersten Antesten war ich auch gleich vom guten Klang dieses Synthesizers überzeugt. Auf dieser kompositorischen Reise entstand die fünf Songs umfassende EP Retroman – Alive!

Viel Spaß beim Anhören!

Mandatory - Catharsis Cover

Catharsis ist das zweite Studio-Album von Mandatory und wurde 2014 veröffentlicht.

Die neun Songs wurden im bandeigenen Studio in Linz und in den Sepptember Studios in Steyr aufgenommen. Als Produzent zeichnet sich diesmal Gitarrist Chris Hörmann verantwortlich und das Mastering übernahm Michael Haider von Alpha Mastering. In puncto Songwriting sind die neuen Songs eine Weiterentwicklung des traditionellen Mandatory-Sounds. Von knallhartem Thrash bis hin zu epischen Melodic-Death-Krachern sind alle Trademarks vertreten für die Mandatory bekannt sind.

Viel Spaß mit Cataharsis!

FAQs

FAQs & Guides

Beitragskategorien
/von
Hier findest du FAQs und Guides zu den Themen Homerecording, Gitarre, Songwriting und mehr. Jedes FAQ beinhaltet kurze, kompakte Antworten auf häufig gestellte Fragen und weiterführende Links zu ausführlichen Artikel und Erklärungen. Die Guides sind entweder als Download verfügbar oder darauf aus gelegt, dich in didaktisch sinnvoller Weise durch...
Homerecording

Homerecording

Beitragskategorien
/von
Angefangen bei den Komponenten eines Homerecording-Setups über die gängigsten Aufnahmetechniken und Effekte bis hin zu technischen Erklärungen findest du hier (fast) alle benötigten Infos, um gleich selbst mit dem Recording loslegen zu...
Gitarre

Gitarre

Beitragskategorien
/von
Die Gitarre ist ein faszinierendes aber auch herausforderndes Instrument. Als Gitarrist habe ich viele dieser Herausforderungen in kleine, überschaubare Denkmuster heruntergebrochen, die ich versuche als Lehrer  anderen weiterzuvermitteln und auf dieser Seite für alle Interessierten zugänglich machen...
Songwriting

Songwriting, Komposition & Musiktheorie

Beitragskategorien
/von
Die Kunst einen Song schreiben oder ein Orchesterwerk komponieren zu können benötigt Zeit, Erfahrung und Ausdauer. Alle Hürden und Schwierigkeiten mit denen ich in meiner Laufbahn konfrontiert war, werde ich in den folgenden Beiträgen zusammenfassen, auf dass du von meinen Erfahrungen profitieren...
Videos

Videos

Beitragskategorien
/von
Eine Übersicht über Videos aus meinen Bands und Projekten. Von Musikvideos über Animationen bis hin zu Tutorials kannst du hier alles finden, das ich entweder selbst visuell erschaffen oder bei dem ich mitgewirkt...
Playlists

Playlists

Beitragskategorien
/von
Musik in allen erdenklichen Formen und für alle Lebenslagen. Die Playlists auf dieser Seite präsentieren Künstler und Musikstile, die meinen Musikgeschmack nachhaltig beeinflusst haben und sind zugleich ein Präsentationsmedium für meine eigenen...
DIY - Selbstgemacht

DIY – Selbstgemacht

Beitragskategorien
/von
Gerade Musikern macht das Budget oft einen Strich durch die Rechnung - also warum nicht mal etwas selber machen? Die DIY-Projekte auf dieser Seite sind Beispiele dafür was man alles günstig selbst erledigen kann und sollen eine Anregung sein es mir...
Tests & Reviews

Tests & Reviews

Beitragskategorien
/von
In meiner Laufbahn als Musiker, Tontechniker, Songwriter und Lehrer bin ich über so manches Buch, Video oder Equipment gestolpert, das mir das Lernen und Produzieren etwas leichter gemacht hat. Hier findest du Tests und Reviews zu Produkten, die meiner Meinung nach jedem Musiker, Songwriter oder Homerecording-Begeisterten das Leben erleichtern...
Herunterladen
close-link
close-link